Colstro

By Colstro

Pink Hat

A bit of a cheat today: there was no way I could take a self portrait while I was in the swimming pool, so my sister-in-law took this photo for me.

Today was the Swimathon, our charity swim in aid of Marie Curie Cancer Care. My niece persuaded me to join her to form a team of two, and between us we swam 5 km - 100 lengths each of the 25m pool. It was a very enjoyable event; I swam at my normal pace, and my young niece was kind enough to swim a little more slowly than she is capable of so that she swam only a little faster than me. We weren't very precise in timing the swim (that wasn't the most important part of the event) but it took us somewhere between 1 hr 20min and 1hr 30 mins. That includes an extra couple of lengths we swam together after we had completed the 5k.

We have raised a very substantial sum of money, which is a great result.

We were provided with swimming caps for the event. My niece decided to choose pink and, as we were a team, that meant I had to wear pink as well. Not really my first choice!

But a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.