A young Robin comes to call.

We have had to have a very large Senecio shrub taken out from the top of the garden as it has been slowly dying this year.
Stephen has been clearing the ground which it had covered.
As he was raking this young Robin came along and picked out any grubs it could find.
The ground is bone dry.
The soil here is so free draining and full of small stones.
I have constantly had to add new bags of compost each year, along with compost from our three bins.
I can no longer dig or move a lot of stuff about now, which I find frustrating (!) but something I have to live with, as it can’t be improved, but managed at least.
I know every single inch of this garden having planted most of the shrubs and plants myself over the past 41 years we have lived in this house.
This summer has seen the loss of three of my beautiful roses and quite a few perennial plants. But they can at least be replaced, and once we do eventually have some rain, the parched ground and borders will recover.
No rain due yet for at least another week or so, and temperatures set to rise to 28C this coming week.
In the meantime, we have sunshine, blue skies, and crowds enjoying the Commonwealth Games, without having to resort to umbrellas and raincoats!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.