Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By cdsvfdcs

World Tai Chi and Qigong Day

On the last saturday in April, since 1999, over 60 countries have participated in World Tai Chi and Qigong Day. At 10:00AM starting in New Zealand, and working around the world at 10:00AM everywhere people meet to practice this calming, healing art, as part of a world healing vision. At first I thought this might be hokey, but our school always meets in a beautiful park on the edge of Puget Sound and I usually find myself there. Sometimes it's gorgeous (like it would have been 2 days ago); today felt like winter! I definitely needed a hat and mittens and a warmer jacket! At least 20 people showed up here on this very blustery (one had to yell to be heard over the howling wind) cloudy day looking like rain any minute. (but so far-4PM-it hasn't!) Earlier the snowy Olympic mountains were lit up but by 10 it was getting hazy over there. Hard to get a picture into the light, but here is our wonderful teacher in the orange jacket (she was smart enough to wear hat and mittens) leading this disparate group, including some "drop ins" just passing by, in some Qigong. Although I'm not so good at remembering all the forms, or being able to do all the balancing, I find it really good for my creaky joints, my blood pressure and even centering my mind on occasion. :-)

Here's the "official" website which I find rather messy, (could use a better web designer!) but you can find a lot of information there if you are interested.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.