pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Fortunate Son

With her ladyship up and away early again this morning, I found myself wide awake far earlier than I am used to and resolved to put this bonus time to good use. 

No, not by snuggling back under the covers, but instead by donning my running garb, putting my headphones in and jogging down the canal path to the strains of Creedence Clearwater Revival’s ‘Fortunate Son’. It’s certainly quite a way to start the day, but I was feeling the effects around 2pm and could have quite easily crashed out at my desk.

I was distracted this afternoon by news of a new company car coming my way in the form of one Toyota or another (the model choice is mine) and so spent a little time doing some research. Being lucky enough to have parents with a Toyota already and a father who loves researching cars, I delegated the task of choosing to him - with a little assistance from m’boy and his various Top Gear magazines.

I was excited for the children to come round as we had the first of our three day weekends over the summer holidays to look forward to. They barrelled in at just before 5pm with smiles, cuddles and most crucially of all: cake. Cake hand-made by The Youngest for her Cubs Personal Challenge no less.

We were all tired after a busy day, so they pottered around whilst I made dinner and in the evening light, The Youngest went outside into the yarden to raid the recycling bins for receptacles to help her make some potions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.