Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Only a mother would love

The first cardinal is one I posted in June when I noticed he had no head feathers.  I did some research and found that molting happens sometimes during mating season or extreme heat.  Yep, exactly what we had going on in June.    But bless his heart, he still is looking really bad but there are some feathers on his head.   I am so hoping he will get them back once the weather cools off.     The other thing is he might have mites but none of the other birds in the yard seem to have a bald head or bare patches of feathers.

Second shot is either a young male or a female but it also looks a little grungy so I wondered if it had a molt going on.   First time I noticed this one.  

Unfortunately it will be hot for another month or more.   I hope the baldy stays around so I can see what might become of its head.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.