A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Two-Faced

Every day I see this sunflower standing tall behind the cages where scarlet runner beans grow. But today I see a face, two faces actually • I am reminded of Brittany Griner, the WNBA basketball player sentenced to prison by a Russian court this week, for nine years. The image of her face peering through a cage asking for leniency was heartbreaking • This sunflower is also the face of Ukraine. It will forever symbolize their courage, strength and defiance as they fight for their freedom and democracy, from Russia. They, too, became prisoners of Putin when Russia invaded their country • Another very hot, humid and dry day here. With the renovation done, I moved the mower, wheelbarrow and a few other larger items back in the shed. I did some spot watering to help some of the plants get through the day. I’ll have to do a more thorough watering tomorrow because the heat index is expected to be over 100F. It’s ridiculous!! If we all survive this heatwave, next week looks to be better • Be well, Stay safe, and Keep cool :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.