A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

Eleven Years Ago

Today I had a good visit with Dad. After lunch I took him to the cemetery to visit Mom's grave. I don't get to do that very often, but really wanted to this time. I thought of her so much last Sunday on Mother's Day. With my own children being mothers (well one will become a mother later this year), Mother's Day wasn't 'all about me' and it caused me to think about all those Mother's Days when my mom was alive, that I didn't focus enough on her.

I'll be back at home on Saturday night and I'm ready. I miss my taxman and my bed. I also miss my girls and grandbabies.

Dad doesn't know that I clicked off this picture really quickly. It was a brief moment. He said about three times, "I can't believe it's been eleven years." I can't believe it either. Time moves on but love keeps the memory alive.

Today I am thankful for all that my mother did for me - for the sacrifices she made, for the love and kindness that she scattered around me my entire life. I can still feel it today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.