Winter Survivor

I was surprised to find this mariposa/butterfly (Spanish) flitting in the morning sunshine.  It's wings are a bit worn but it will probably be able to start the next generation of butterflies.  
Today the news reported that Judith Durham the singer in the group The Seekers has died  1943 - 2022.  I started this week with noting my brother had died so I thought I would end with a death.  I was still at home when their songs were hits and my mother and I both enjoyed that clear voice of  Judith's and the melodies of the songs.  I had never thought of  this song as suitable for a funeral but maybe it is.  Perhaps it is more likely I will have the Seekers at my funeral rather than another great Australian band, AC/DC and their song Highway To Hell. 

The Carnival Is Over     Tom Springfield  (Dusty's brother)

Say goodbye, my own true lover
As we sing a lovers' song
How it breaks my heart to leave you
Now the carnival is gone

High above the dawn is waiting
And my tears are falling rain
For the carnival is over
We may never meet again

Like a drum, my heart was beating
And your kiss was sweet as wine
But the joys of love are fleeting
For Pierrot and Columbine

Now the harbour light is calling
This will be our last goodbye
Though the carnival is over
I will love you 'til I die . . . 





 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.