The Long Walk

Vikram and Anthony set off early while it was still cool. They walked up to Harting Down and back, a round-trip of 15 miles. Meanwhile I resumed my role as 50s housewife crossed with Masai woman,  going to the well about every 10 minutes to get water for the kitchen. It’s amazing how often you just need a tiny bit of water to do anything.  Good lesson for the hosepipe ban I suppose.

I actually did a lot of errands, hauled pots around into sunnier or shadier positions and threw every pot of grey water on the garden.

When they got home footsore weary at about seven we had drinks in the garden before eating a slightly disastrous Jamie Oliver fish and rice recipe (that looked so easy on Instagram) and blackcurrant ice cream that I made in the afternoon 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.