Preparing new foundations

I start my new job with Crisis Skylight in twelve days time. So far I am very impressed. At no point - application form, interview or subsequent meeting with the director - have I been asked about my educational qualifications; they seem interested in what I can do and what I believe, not what pieces of paper I have. Of the twelve selection criteria, the application form asked me to detail my experience of only four. Once invited to interview I was sent information about the six questions I would be asked so I had time to think about how I could demonstrate my experience of the remaining criteria. At interview they engaged with me in conversation, rather than just letting me talk in response to their questions. That's a much better way than usual to find out about a candidate.

The job offer is provisional, subject to the usual - references and a criminal record check - but also subject to my reading and acceptance of the organisation's values and key policies. Today I spent a lot of time  absorbing policies. There is nothing exceptional in them and they are clearly written. It is the values that make me think I have found a place I can belong:

Inspiration - We can and we do change the lives of homeless people. Through this work we inspire others to help end homelessness.
Integrity through knowledge - Our integrity is grounded in our unique knowledge base, which comes from our research and years of working directly with thousands of homeless people.
Dignity - By giving people the tools to help themselves out of homelessness, we uphold their dignity. We act with compassion, a sense of common decency, and with humanity.
Fearlessness through independence - Our independence grants us not just the ability, but also the responsibility to be fearless and say what needs to be said to help homeless people.
Adaptability - We are curious, creative and adaptive, willing to change what we do when we know what works – and what does not.
Resolve to end homelessness - Be it through anger or compassion, we draw our resolve from the injustice that is homelessness in 21st century Britain.

I am looking forward to this!


More about this picture here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.