Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Kings Park

Mauzee and I were really keen to do a good walk today so we headed for the beach and soon made the call that we would get blown off our feet if we decided to go that way.  We then headed inland and went to Kings Park to see what the conditions were like there.  It was magnificent.  Hardly a breath of breeze and sunny blue skies.  We parked MiniMo about 2 kilometres from the main display area and I showed Mauzee how we could wind our way to the main show of wildflowers by taking advantage of the walking tracks that wound their way through the bush.  It was absolutely delightful and a bonus was that we were ALMOST the only people on the tracks, so we felt quite safe.  Although there was already a lot of colour showing, I feel the best display will be in around 3 to 4 weeks time.  September should be spectacular and the carpets of Everlastings will be blooming in all their glory.
I did share a story with Mauzee of how I got lost in Kings Park one stormy night when I was in my teens with another young tennis player.  We used to meet at the Kings Park Tennis Club for coaching sessions.  It was the WA Junior Squad.  Well Loma and I headed out to run the track as part of our training and it started to rain.  Not only did it rain but a storm came in and there was thunder and lightening as well.  We were both terrified and soon found we had lost our sense of direction and had no idea how to return to the tennis club.  It took us about an hour to find our way back to home base and by then the troops were all out looking for us.  My father was always a bit of a worrier but by the time we arrived back he was in a terrible state.  I’m not sure I can remember having to ever run out there again during our tennis squad sessions!!!  I have to say, we felt a lot safer today and we had an absolutely amazing walk through the back tracks of this spectacular park.
My image was taken with my iPhone and is a pic of some of the wonderful Kangaroo Paws that are starting to bloom in the park.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.