Cosy Old Cardigan

By Stacebob

Stirchley Beer Mile

Cor what a lovely (if insanely sweaty/rashy) day! A bunch of us made an attempt at the Stirchley beer mile; I say "an attempt" because we did skip The British Oak, but we also added Redbeer'd, and I had to cheat and have non-alcoholic bevvies on occasion, but I think a valiant effort was made! Rich, Phil, Hayley, Jack, Matt & I started in Redbeer'd (Delerium Red cherry sour for me), before hitting up Cotteridge Wines for my Favourite Drink Of The Day, Vault City's P.O.G, a passion fruit, orange and guava sour that rather dangerously just tasted like a delicious fruit juice, despite being 8%! At Glasshouse Brewery we were joined by Kie, and we lunched on some rather delicious pizzas. I started getting a bit uncomfortable in the incredible summer heat on our walk from there along the canal to the next stop, Stirchley Wines & Spirits, so I opted for a bottle of water there (I know, lame! :P) Back on the beer at Birmingham Brewing Co. but this was probably my Least Favourite Drink Of The Day; a Brummie Sour which was ostensibly a white peach and passion fruit sour but I struggled to find any flavours at all... By the time we got to the next spot, Wildcat, I was struggling with the heat again, just feeling super overheated, so it was another soft drink for this toasty bint! The sun allergy started flaring up here too, so I was uncomfortably itchy... The next venue, Cork & Cage, was literally about 3 doors down the road so no problems with that walk, haha! The final venue, Attic Brew Co, was absolutely packed, but I did enjoy a rhubarb and custard sour there. Attic happens to be right by Bournville station so after a short train ride we headed to Fat Hippo for delicious burgers, before ending the evening at Sommar Tap. I had sort of lost my taste for beer by that point, wanting something a little less bloaty, sweeter and more flavourful, so I had a lovely cocktail to round out the night. All in all it was a very fun day, but hoo boy will I be happier when the temps start dropping a bit..!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.