Occasional Blipper

By GetYourBootsOn

I'm Covered...

...in pollen! A busy bee doing what it does best.

I suspect many people on here have lots of 'gear'? I don't mean the illegal kind, I mean camera gear. I am no exception. I have a love affair with Leica M, especially their lenses. I have a SL that I also use those lenses on and yesterday's pic was taken on M43. But, and it's a BIG BUT, where is it all going when you can take a pic like this (and I don't mean I've done a great pic here, I mean in general terms) on nothing more than the phone you carry with you 90-100% of your waking hours? 
There I was, out running this morning trying to get some training in for the upcoming Glasgow half marathon and I spotted this at the side of the road. The trainers screeched to a halt with smoke and rubber everywhere, believe that and you'll believe anything :) and I whipped the phone out of my running pack thing. Made sure the lens was clear and snapped away in macro mode. I never thought much more about it till tonight when I thought it might make a blip. I started tweaking in Snapseed directly on the phone and was staggered at the detail coming up. Whether you like the pic or not it does beg the question, that for certain genres of photography at least, it makes all of that other kit a bit redundant?
I'll caveat that a bit. For screen imagery it's up there but for large prints it's a tougher call, you need those pixels. Having said that with apps like Topaz Gigapixel or the new Resize AI built into On1 (which I use), even this becomes less of an issue.

Anyway, food for thought and I hope you enjoy the blip.

BTW, I signed up today, reckon it'll be one of the best ways I've spent £36.50 this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.