The Bedlam Theatre

I'm still recovering from yesterday's depressing lunch with about 50 old FP's; and I use the word 'old' advisedly. Why is it that other people age while we don't? No matter that people didn't recognise me, their memories must failing too.
The noise that so many women can make in a dining room is substantial and it was difficult to hold any conversation against the cacophony of voices: nothing wrong with my hearing of course.

Even the food, I thought, was substandard for a prestigious Golf Club, but perhaps we paid through the nose for the superb view in sunshine over the immaculate grassy links to Cramond Island, Inchcolm and the Fife coast. To the west the view took in Broxburn and a shale bing looking like a poor man's Ayre's Rock.

And so to another day with some early sunshine but with a wind so cold that I could have done with a hat as I mixed with the swarms of early tour parties eager to explore the Royal Mile. Judging by their uniform of bright blue cagoules, I think they were probably off a cruise ship and I wonder what they made of the 'feeling like 5 degrees' temperature.

This renovated building was one of Edinburgh's many churches but is now home to the Bedlam Theatre. With its Gothic frontage it seems quite in keeping with its new use.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.