Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Rows 19 and 20

The grapes are picked in the Kaituna Valley vineyard, so the sheep do their work clearing between the rows.

I love the progression of the grapevines through the months and the wonderful colours and textures they display. I was inspired a few years ago by the book 'The Colour of Wine' by Kevin Judd. What a fantastic volume it is too; his photography of the vibrant colours and atmosphere of vineyards is dramatic and, pardon the pun, intoxicating.

I am embarrassed mentioning that excellent book alongside this modest blip, but I know I'll go back on another early morning or late afternoon and get the light that I want. I would have loved to have shot this image about an hour later than when it was captured, as the light and shadows for me aren't quite right, but I was on my way to see friends, so I guess you've got to shoot when you can.

After all, the best camera is the one you have with you. And just remember - f8 and be there, right? :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.