This is the day

By wrencottage

Cheerful colours

I was at our local garden centre first thing this morning, in order to choose some pea shingle to hide the earth and the York stone slab on which our new bird bath is standing. A strong chap at the nursery carried the bags some distance to my car and put them in the car boot for me. I then drove back home and somehow managed to deposit the bags in the garage, ready for another strong chap, our gardener Steve, to carry them out to the back garden and lay them round the base of the bird bath when he comes on Friday.

After that I drove to the hairdresser’s to have a hair cut, and was back in time for a fabulous cup of coffee prepared with love by the wonderful Smithers. After lunch I walked up to church to go to the funeral of a lovely friend who died recently, having suffered from dementia for several years. She was only six months older than me, which made me feel extra sad. 

Much later on this afternoon we had a lovely visit from our middle son, daughter-in-law and the littlies, which was arranged because the traveller is off again tomorrow and the girls wanted to say goodbye to Uncle Bean. We don’t know when we’ll see him again, so lots of hugs and cuddles were shared, and photos taken, and by the end I was feeling not only very tired but also pretty emotional. Hopefully he’ll be back in this country for good very soon, but he has a lot to sort out before he can return.

I chose this photo to upload for today’s blip because I felt the need for some cheering up colour today. This drought is making everywhere look a bit monotonous and colourless so I bent down low and took this shot of some tubs on our patio, behind which is the parched lawn. 

In the extras is a regular visitor to the garden at the moment, looking a bit lean and hungry it has to be said ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.