a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Migrant Hawker

Tiny Tuesday: Migrant Hawker Dragonfly

I spent a very enjoyable morning chasing dragons, before it got too warm. When I started the sun was only just up and with the air temperature at 14C there was a bit of low lying mist in places.  

It was a delight to be able to don a light long sleeve top :-)  I prefer to wear long sleeves and long trousers when around the marshes as there are (inevitably) a large number. of flying insects that seem to think I must taste delicious.  I am sure that I don't but of course, by the time they find that out its already too late for me.

There were plenty of dragons to see still, but I spent most of my time on this Emperor Migrant Hawker (thanks Jill), who obligingly patrolled one of the rhynes (the local term for the drainage ditches or mini canals that form part of the artificial drainage structures that help to drain the Somerset Levels).  I've given you two shots:  side on and head on as I couldn't decide between the two.  The head on shot is more difficult to achieve but I think on balance that I prefer the side view.

By 9am the temperature had got to the low 20's and I headed on home to take it easy for the rest of the day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.