I know how they feel

By the time I left the apartment it was late morning and, though I didn't realize till later,  the beginning of an extraordinarily good day. From campus in Arnavutkoy I walked down the hill to catch the bus to Taksim (extra) where,  with a gazillion or more other people, I walked the length of Istiklal Caddesi until I reached the Pera Museum in Beyoğlu to view their latest exhibition entitled "and now the good news" ("Focusing on the relationship between mass media and art,  And Good News Now  brings together a comprehensive selection from the Annette and Peter Nobel Collection" (peramuzesi.org.tr).  

Walking through all five floors of intriguing exhibits which included both Hockney (extra) and Andy Warhol as well as some artists I hadn't heard of and must out more about,  I eventually came back to the entry lobby ready to leave, of course, no surprise really, it seems to happen quite often, there was one of my most special graduates, about to explore the exhibition with a friend from Berkley where he's studying. This veteran of Model United Nation conferences with me in The Hague and, also like me, a graduate of 2020, (!!) we sat in the museum cafe for a cup of tea and catch up for a long while before eventually it was time for him to join his chum and me to leave.  How lovely to see him though. Bear hugs in public places are always fun!!!

I then strolled back up Istiklal Cad (where I took today's main photo and bought new sandals as mine had just broken), went in to St Antoine church, as always when I am here, before walking to the Metro that took me to Nespitiye then walked to Akmerkez, where feeling both dehydrated and very tired, I rested for a while with dinner and beer at Midpoint restaurant before walking the final stretch back to campus and down the hill to where I am staying. Back "home", hot and uncomfortable, I realized that I had walked in excess of 10km.  Probably too far in this heat and humidity, but it really was a lovely day.

Class begins tomorrow - quite excited to be teaching again!

(Note; this is a late entry - It's Wednesday and I've been totally exhausted and soooo busy, so I am just catching up now on both my journal and other folks

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.