Highseas

I had other reasons to head over to the other side of the island this morning, but while there I thought, "since the Wide on Wednesday theme is 'House,' why not go back to that spot along the shore you visited back in November?" So that's what I did. 

I enjoyed the dramatic stretch of coastline, but it wasn't really possible to get that great a shot of the High Seas House, seeing as it sits up on an inaccessible stretch of rocky shoreline. The sky was slightly overcast with lots of glare, which made including anything out to sea problematic. Which is too bad, because the view over to Egg Rock Lighthouse was impressive, and a bunch of lobster boats rushed in close to the shore at high tide to pull traps. So the house is rather lost in the trees, and ocean is missing, and Champlain Mountain is barely peeking out on the right. 

I'm grumbling, but truth is I knew going in the only way to get a representative shot of this historical mansion is by boat or plane. I've never flown by it, but I used to work on a tour boat which came past this place all the time, so I have a good sense of how impressive the whole scene is from the water, and this is what it looks like from the air.

So I had a fine time exploring, and then headed off to the grocery store.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.