Man, Mountain or Fish

By StevieFish

Don't believe the skies

Saturday, the first full day of freedom from that evil sentence they call work. Last night I went to meet one of SJ's colleagues and her husband for drinks. Back to the Roseleaf again but this time more civilised. Interesting banter ensued and we managed to make our way home just late enough to let us know it was the weekend. One small downer on the night was the damp left foot - my walking shoes have a mystery hole somewhere that lets water right in. Not pleasant.

One long lie in later and it was Saturday, SJ was off to meet friends and new babies, I had a day to myself. Needing shoes I made my way into town by bus, as the skies threatened to open up (and the wind looked extreme - bending the trees in an alarming fashion). Wrong.

I was overdressed, hot and flustered as I marched from Blacks to Tiso's but with no joy. The asshat salesman in Tiso's just couldn't be bothered at all and in fact just disappeared! I stood there, hot and getting more pissed off for a good few minutes waiting for him to come back before I simply abandoned the shoes I was trying on and walked out of the shop.

I had better luck in the Tiso's in Leith where a helpful assistant happily did her job and assisted me and as a result I now have a lovely pair of Brasher shoes. I stopped off for a quick pint in Sofi's while waiting for SJ to arrive (which is when I snapped this photo) and then we were off to the cinema for Star Trek treats.

Even SJ enjoyed it (and she hates SciFi) - a treat indeed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.