In the woods

Ahead of me in the woods was a man, his son, and an older lady in a motorised wheelchair. I caught them up at a point where the trail became steeper and  bumpier. She declared UDI and said that down there she was not going. As I passed I agreed she was probably right. But then the man and his boy just moved on and left her there. I had pressed on as well, but felt a lingering sense of guilt. 
 
In other news I’ve just had a conversation with two kids outside this building. "We know how to get to in there," the older one said, showing me how he pressed a buzzer. He kept asking questions. I politely answered them. I recall this lad trying to grab my keys a year or two ago. I've learned not to have run ins with these waifs. They all have parents. I'm glad I'm not one of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.