This is the day

By wrencottage

Keeping Cool

Now that the second heatwave of this summer is upon us down here in the south of England, I have been very glad of the fans we have in various rooms of the house. This one is in our family room.

It was particularly important for me to keep cool today, because I had set myself the task of finally making a card for my husband’s birthday, despite not having any inspiration whatsoever. And then … just like that … it came. I instantly knew just what I wanted to make, and set about researching what I would need. For this my craft room door had to be shut, with strict instructions issued that I was not to be disturbed.

By the end of the morning, I am pleased to say, I had put together a card which hopefully will bring a smile to his lips. If you’re good I might show you, but not until Sunday!

Apart from that, I dead headed my roses in the relative cool of the early morning, using a new tool with which I’ve fallen in love. It’s a Spear and Jackson easy-reach pruner, and I use it for those spent blooms which I can’t reach with my hand secateurs. It also has a clever mechanism which holds on to the cut bloom and enables me to drop it into the basket beside me, which really is the icing on the cake for this arthritic old lady!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.