A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Feeding Frenzy

I know for sure we have three ruby-throated hummingbirds because I’ve seen them together at the same time. I also know we have one male and one female, but what the third one is I have no idea • I normally have three feeders for them but since the raccoons knocked one out of the tree a few nights ago I haven’t bothered to put it back up. Why? Because they’ll just knock it down again • The other two have been busy-busy this afternoon. Like Grand Central Station. About every five minutes a ruby-red comes in to slurp up some of that sweet homemade nectar. I will have to make more tomorrow • The male is the flashy one with his red gorget • A busy morning vacuuming and mopping floors. Long overdue but I’ve been waiting for cooler and drier air and today was that day. We’ll be lucky to enjoy them for 24 hours because one of the cats will christen them sooner than later…oh, let me count the ways, lol! • Has anyone noticed that August is flying by?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.