Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

RIP, dear Hawk

Chores, projects, and a walk to the top where I sat on the bench and took many photos of the bees in the thistles……I never get pictures of bees so might have been a blip.     But later this afternoon I was inside and heard a huge bang..a large bird crashed into the front double doors.   Very odd as it’s under a porch roof , not that tall, and there was a barbecue standing in front of the doors. .   But there he was on his back, breathing, for maybe 2 minutes before it thrust it’s legs up and turned over on its chest,…and died.   Very sad.   I think it’s a young sharp-shinned hawk, not cooper’s but I don’t know for sure….  what do you think,  birders?  Kimb?    The eye was open for a minute but I couldn’t tell if it was red or yellow from my photo.  It was 15" long. We both felt so bad we took it way up in the forest and gave it a decent burial. 
Extras:   On it’s chest by our door,  and one of the bees with the rattiest wings… and I added the burial site, 3rd

Edit.   I knew blippers would know!    It’s a juvenile Cooper’s hawk!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.