Living my dream

By Mima

Just the beginning

25 years ago today I met a man in Far North Queensland. He was standing on the deck of his trimaran yacht, where he was waiting to take me and two other backpackers to the Great Barrier Reef. 

I had heard about this chap from several people and my first thought when I saw him was "Oh! He's not what I imagined." 

Leaning against the mast, dressed in ripped shorts, a faded T-shirt and a battered backwards baseball cap, he looked... interesting. 

This of course was the man who turned out to be my Pirate. And indeed he was absolutely the most interesting person I've ever met in my life. 

It wasn't quite love at first sight, but within a couple of days I knew. He was the person who filled all the gaps in my soul; the person I'd known all my life even though we had only just met.

My travel plans went out of the window. He taught me to sail. I taught him to bake bread. We talked, sailed, snorkeled, fished, cooked, ate, gardened, talked and talked and loved.

16 months later we were married. Before the following year was out he died from cancer. 

I celebrate his life and his presence in mine every day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.