Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Drinking it in

Being quite windy and cloudy there were very few bees around and birds for that matter. Hanging around for a time a bit like a spare part waiting for action here in the garden which never happened, I took a few shots of the fly on the viburnum. Calling it a day hoping that something would miraculously happen which it didn't either I decided to stick with my bluebottle here and hit a garden centre...big time! Decisions...... today I should really make a start on the greenhouse and the hanging baskets for the summer!

Having said that I'm not knocking Bluey Bluebottle as he did rather amuse me. Covered and I mean totally covered in pollen by the time he had finished his meal he looked so dishevelled. This small chap just went round and round drinking in the nectar from each little cup - you can see clearly his long tongue and the tiny pollen grains starting to accumulate round his face which later looked if he'd just dipped his head in a bucket of pollen! I loved his metallic blue colourings too.

You can also see the arista and antenna on his head, sensors which detect air and odours and his compound eyes seem huge in comparison his body. Fair play that he didn't get blown off course with each gust of wind!

Hopefully my plants today will bring a few more bees and insects into the garden this summer when they get going! They say you should never shop for food when you're hungry - I would add to that..never go to a Garden Centre when you haven't done your blip! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.