If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Poppy Seed head

The garden is starting to be sparse in flowers available.  Today, as I was wandering round the poppy seed head texture, attracted my attention.

The main business of the day was a run into town to drop some things off at a charity shop and Clickychick wanted to nip to the bank.  I was supposed to help with the carrying.  As I got out of the car somebody was getting into the van beside us..  He greeted me, I think he was an ex-pupil but I might be mixing him up with his brother.  It is nearly 50 years ago so I have an excuse.  Knowing my interest in nature, and I knowing his interest and abilities with Sand Lizards we started talking.  We were still talking when Clickychick had finished her business, it is a good job he is self-employed.

He told me about a site in Wales where he should, around this time, have been releasing this year's batch of youngsters he has bred.  The Welsh government has not yet signed off for the release, they have only had a year to get round to it.  He is after all trying to reintroduce a native lizard to its natural habitat.  The suggestion has been made "can't you overwinter them?".  As he said they clearly have no idea of how much work is needed to look after 180 lizards on top of his own breeding stock.

With the right weather, we are going to see them in the early days of September.  I am really looking forward to it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.