Memories...

I am still ploughing through, and poring over mountains of old photos and was pleased to find this print which I am certainly keeping.

The gentleman was a man called Roger, he owned a small but successful business in the village where we lived as kids.

He was a character, and had a penchant for exotic cars. He sold a beautiful Daimler Double Six two door coupe just after this was taken. I have recently tracked down the car, in the ownership of a man whom I have met recently. A man called Mike. I was utterly stunned to discover that Mike bought the car from Roger, 40 years ago. And still owns it today.  I love stories like this.

The lady was his wife, Elaine. She worked with Roger in his shop and he was her second husband, she having been abused and cruelly treated by her adulterous first husband.

They were mostly happy, but not always. They asked me to take the photograph at a time when they were happy and I think it is a nice relaxed picture.

Elaine was a kindly, caring, generous and adorable woman. Everyone loved her. Except of course that bastard that kicked her out with nothing but the clothes on her back. My father. 

Elaine, was my mother. 

Roger died shortly after this photo was taken. Mum did live quite happily for twenty years after his death and enjoyed a full and active life until she too passed away in 2012.

Ten years after, she is still here in our hearts, in our minds and our memories.

A Saint and the best mum I ever had....


The photo popped up at the time that I had just seen and commented on another blippers very honest and personal account, on 12th August. I was deeply touched by her story and I am unashamedly inspired to blip a similarly personal account.

Thanks Mima.. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.