pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Hole watered

It had been a long while since Rusty-plums and I had caught up, so we made sure to do it in style with a burger and beer at Pappy’s Texas Barbecue.

Before all that my sister had arrived with her family in the afternoon, so I had a quick catch up with her. They were drowsy after the long drive and the heat was getting to me after a lunchtime walk into town (where I bought a sideboard from a charity shop), so I didn’t stay too long.

The heat had turned humid in the early evening, lending my recently shaved and already shiny bonce a new layer of sheen. Out of no where, I was accosted by a pleasant chap who I think may have been “on something” as he good-naturedly jostled me and fist bumped me as he played a dance track to me from Youtube (unrequested). Initially, I thought he may have been deaf through his lack of speech and wild gestures, but I think he was just smacked off his tits. Nice chap though.

Russ and I had a great catch-up and then meandered our way past the Barrel House (where m’boy and I had a beer last week) and to The Tap - a favourite watering hole of many locals. As evidenced by the arrival of some of the panto chaps later on, who were on a work reunion crawl, so I got to catch up with, Mr Lawson, Doddsy and Cashy (aka. ayearinthelife) too!

Before we were very much older - and with paddle boarding with LadyV tomorrow very much on my mind - we called it a night and walked home part of the way together, pausing only so I could take this one of the path around Abbot Hall park, facing away from the river. Not taken a night shot for ages.

Happy weekend all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.