Shot Moss & The Stang

I didn't fancy a standing start out of Keld this morning up the 25% hairpins, so, after leaving Sarah and Debs to their fresh croissants and walking day, I took the car to the top of Tan Hill to start my day.  It was the perfect temperature, although I knew I wouldn't be saying that by the end of the ride!

I made the most of the wild, high level lane across Tan Hill before dropping into Brough to start my first climb, Shot Moss.  Rich and I raved about this road coming from the other direction as we took the scenic way home from our holiday in Cowshill earlier in the year.  It was just as quiet as it was when we drove through and as stunning as we remembered.  

After a long, steady incline and a few miles of this picturesque road, it was a right turn to head for Barnard Castle which gave me about nine free miles of mostly coasting downhill.  It was here that I cycled like the posh lady drinking wine, with my little finger sticking out, because my sprain was twanging on my handlebars going downhill. Nothing from my knee though - and that's really what I was concerned about. 

I had planned to stop at Barnard Castle but, with plenty of water and food on board, I carried on in an attempt to minimise cycling in the heat of the day.  It was hotting up somewhat!

Next, The Stang.  I came down this road in 2018 and, being in a bit of an awkward place, I haven't returned for the ascent of it.  Today corrected that.  After a few hundred metres on the A66, I turned off left to find the countryside again.  I was soon on the hill, cycling with butterflies, darting dragonflies and singing crickets.  Through the pine trees, it smelt like an Alpine summer with the heat radiating through the woodland. There were  a few areas of shade but many of the trees have been felled.  I met a group of blue cyclists near the top who were also feeling the heat but I kept on going and found myself cooling off on the descent down to Whaw and the back of Tan Hill.  

I was a bit perturbed to see it was still eight miles to the top to find the car, in particular knowing that it was eight miles of uphill!  

Hot. Slow. Drink.  Keep going!

I timed my last sips of water perfectly and recognised the knoll before the Tan Hill pub came into sight from a previous ride.  My Garmin registered 90°F on the last mile and a light tailwind meant there wasn't a breath of air for it either. 

But, I made it! 

Air con on, more water in the car and a change of clothes.  It was a tiring drive home but I headed straight for a snooze when I walked through the door.  

A thoroughly satisfying 24 hours of company, solitude and cycling - all in the great outdoors.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.