WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Bar éphémère

M lent his garden to the council in Ferrals again for a summer fête. Food, drink, Caribbean music, and a milling crowd appreciating the relative cool of the evening, i.e. 34C as opposed to 41. It was a very pleasant evening -- the band was great and some people danced despite the heat (extra). 

We went with Ingrid and G, and I volunteered to drive back, so I mostly drank water. I didn't really notice how much the others were drinking, so I was a bit surprised that when we got up to go, G couldn't get her shoes back on (she'd been dancing barefoot), and S tripped over a straw bale in the semi-darkness, falling over in an elegant and fluid way. It was a very giggly drive home. S later pointed out that we'd bought a total of three bottles of rosé over the course of about four hours, and I only had one largish glass, so the other three must have had nearly a bottle each. Whoopsie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.