A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

A first

Last time I was staying with Grace she mentioned I could maybe get some gluten free baking powder and have a go at gf cheese scones. A staple I always made for visits before Eda was diagnosed Coeliac. So I found some gf bp this week and was up making these just after 8.00am before it got too hot.

The dough felt very strange, a bit like shortbread, I wasn’t sure it was going to bind together but it did. They haven’t risen as much as my normal ones would, despite adding that extra bp, but I can say that they taste very nice having sampled one with our morning coffee.

Son Alex came for a bacon sandwich lunch before helping to install the new dishwasher. All done now and we’re giving it a test run. Well done Alex. We have to order the front door panel now.

Having done my jobs this morning I’m just chilling now as much as is possible in this heat. Don’t expect the family till this evening as they are visiting John’s aunt near Inverness on their way. Think they will be shocked by the heat as they come south.

Hope they will enjoy one of these scones when they arrive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.