Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Time For Tea!

I visited Cookham today - a village in Berkshire on the Thames, not far from Maidenhead. I was there visiting a friend this morning and decided to explore the village as I don’t really know it very well. I went to the Stanley Spencer gallery (20th century British artist who was born and lived here much of his life). Then I explored the rest of the village - it’s not a big place but it’s strung out and I only saw part of it. It was way too hot for walking very far! There were some cottages with beautifully decorated doors and windows and some of the pubs had amazing floral displays. Even in the heat and drought things are thriving as long as they’re getting plenty of water!

I stopped for afternoon tea at the teapot shop and enjoyed a very delicious blueberry cake. That I was in lieu of lunch so I’m allowed the calories, yes? I’ll have to go back on a cooler day when I have the energy to explore more, and maybe walk along the river.

The Extra photo shows some scenes from earlier this morning. I met up with a few of my church friends - we meet regularly on a Monday and are just doing socials during the summer, taking turns hosting. One of us lives in Cookham so she took us on a very brisk walk around the fields and wetlands. It was beautiful but it was already quite hot by 10am! You can see in the middle right picture of the ‘extra’ that the wetlands aren’t very wet! In the same picture you can just about make out Cliveden House in the distance, and a closer up view bottom right.

Apparently it’s my 8-year blip anniversary! It actually has taken about 8 1/2 years to get here as I miss some days now and then. I don’t comment on other journals as much as I’d like - I find it challenging enough just to do my own! But I enjoy so many journals and I have made some terrific and life-long friends who are very precious to me! You know who you are!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.