Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Hungry Mother

Is the name of the state park near Marion, Virginia where we visited today. Tate had to make up about 6 hours of work to catch up for some time off he had this week so we got in the car to make the hour and a half drive to this park. Really great that there are places close for hiking.

There is a huge lake with boating, swimming, camping and hiking. We saw kayakers, canoers and stand up paddleboarders. There are many hiking trails with one being a five mile loop around the lake. Others are all in the park mountains.

Jerry said he would go along with whatever I wanted to hike since it was all new to us and of course I picked the hardest trailer uphill for two miles! It is rated a black diamond which means extremely strenuous. And it was very true as we gained 1000 feet in elevation on the way up. This photo is an overlook along the trail that shows the lake and the swimming beach. Being mountain water I know it was cold! After we got to the top of the mountain I was disappointed with the view as I was hoping we would be way above the lake. Not! All we saw were mountains and more mountains. Pretty and I love those kind of views but I wanted water.

Going down was hard on Jerry as his other knee that needs replaced really bothered him. It will be the last time he hikes with me until he gets it replaced this winter.

A total of 4.5 miles. I told him we could do the lake trail with was longer but mostly flat. He said we would do the hike to the top! He will be hurting tomorrow!

A really cool morning in the mid 50s but warming up to mid 70s. Felt wonderful and like fall. The trail was mostly shady which helped when it warmed up.

Food was almost ready thanks to the crockpot so after we ate I went out to pick elderberries for jam. Now to pull all those tiny little bb size berries off the stems. Tomorrow!

Hope everyone is having a good weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.