Cailleach

By Cailleach

EJK: 17/11/30 - 14/8/82

My mother died very suddenly and completely unexpectedly, on the 14th of August, 1982.....exactly 40 years ago. It was two weeks after my 18th birthday and the most dreadful day of my existence. I thought then (wrongly) that I'd never be happy again.

Sometimes, I feel as though I spoke to her only last week, and at other times I realise that I can no longer remember her voice. (My brother says that if she phoned me, I'd know instantly that it was her. I say that the only instant thing to happen would be my immediate heart attack!)

But the anniversary of her death isn't a sad day for me nowadays, not at all. It's a day for remembering how kind and generous she was; for recalling how much she laughed, and how very, very funny she was; for celebrating her warm-hearted, affectionate spirit; and for appreciating how incredibly lucky I was, to have shared 18 years of my life with such a special soul.

And it's also a day for posting dreadful photos of my beloved big brother! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.