Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The 'African savanna' of Bushy Park

Last night we thoroughly enjoyed the party - I wore a very cool cotton outfit, a long top with thin straps over loose drapey trousers, which I last wore in Thailand about 22 years ago! I seldom wear it as it is never hot enough to wear but last night it  was just right. Our friend's son (who is one of Luke's closest friends) was the DJ and he did a great job, he even had us on the dance floor for most of the evening and I will only do that if I like the music ....Dancing queen....

This morning we had our usual walk in the woods with Xena, it is so dusty and dry now that you come back and your shoes are just covered in dust. It was still unbearably hot, I am now fed up with the heat and cannot wait for the cooler weather to come.

 We had a light lunch and then went to Kingston-on-Thames to the Apple store. Panicking about our suitcases getting lost when we travel, we decided to buy some of those Apple tags, as I have heard from friends who use them just how useful they are. They could not deliver them in time so we went into the store to collect them. I cannot remember when I was last in Kingston at the shops, it must be over a year ago.

On the way back from Kingston-on-Thames we went via Bushy Park as I wanted to see how dry it was. As you can see this hardly looks like England, the 'green and pleasant land'. In the extra you can see that if it were not for the oak trees you could be fooled into thinking this was Africa. There were many deer calves and they were so sweet. I liked this image, check those eyelashes...

When we got home we changed and then went to the driving range. Yes, can you believe it, after not playing golf for about 14 years I have decided to take it up again. I decided this when we were in Switzerland as so many woman play at that golf club there and my friend who lives there has taken it up, and I have friends here in England who play so I thought maybe I should give it a go again. I found my old golf clothes, Gavin found my old golf clubs which he had cleaned up for me during the week, I could not find my golf shoes but trainers were fine for the driving range. It was rather enjoyable, but it will be a like starting from the beginning as my swing needs plenty of work. I cannot see myself playing in winter when it is cold and wet but I will try and practice at the driving range and see how it goes.

Now a relaxing evening watching TV. We watched the movie Elvis on Friday night on Sky TV, it was very good, but very sad too. Well acted, Tom Hanks was incredible as Col Tom Parker.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.