One chance only

My large buddleia bush flowered early this year and the flowers are all brown now, sad that it barely attracted any butterflies this year. We used to get lots of peacock butterflies but not any more. There is a new little bush though that has self seeded itself and it has just come into flower and I was hoping that it might attract some butterflies, it smells gorgeous. Today I got my wish, a fleeting visit from a small white (cabbage white). I grabbed my camera and was able to take one shot only before it flew off into another garden. Thankfully it is not too bad.
Zooming in on the photo I can see that the butterfly’s eye is a beautiful pale blue and it is drinking the sweet nectar with it’s long prosboscis. I am really happy that my new little plant has been of service.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.