curns' corner

By curns

Another goodbye

I was at the station at almost exactly 8am with means I was at the office just after 9am which is a remarkably fast commute. Admittedly, I didn’t stop off at Pret for breakfast and, instead, went for a coffee from the cafe just inside the Gray’s Inn Road office. 

It’s been interesting to watch what has changed in the offices - and not changed - over the period when we all forced to be at home. One thing that I forgot about being in the office is that it’s much quicker to make a cup of tea.  These taps serve building water instantly so a brew really is only 4 minutes. At home I have to  boil the kettle. I wonder, if I added it all up, if there would be any actual productivity gains from the tap vs kettle. I imagine not. Oh, and the free squash. I haven’t had that for a few years.

There were two main reasons to be in the office. The first was to review some work and generate a spreadsheet build which was, subsequently, reviewed in a meeting with sales later in the day. The idea is that we have some workings to show development how the pricing structure should work. I’m pleased with what we came out with.

The second reason for the gong into the office today was that it was JY's last day and there was a small presentation at 4pm followed by farewell drinks in the evening. I nearly missed the presentation because I was chatting  but we made it back to our office area just in time for the speeches.  Quite quickly after the speeches, Mark, Sarah and I were heading down to  Farringdon where an area had been reserved in a bar. It was a great evening as there were a lot of the team out for the night and plenty of people who work - or worked - alongside us.  

Drinking near Farringdon means I can take the train for Farringdon to Wimbledon and I don’t have to walk to Waterloo. But, as there are only a couple of trains an hour I’m not usually organised enough to make the train. But tonight, for some reason, I checked the train times while in the bar and realised that I could make it and so had an easier and faster ride home than if I’d gone via Waterloo. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.