Pavlova

I think I probably had a too many drinks last night. I didn’t have a hangover but I decided to stay in bed until quite late.  I could feel the fizz of the last beer - which had a lime in it - churning in my stomach.  The bacon sandwich that PY made for lunch was very welcome.  As we ate, and drank warmed-up coffee, PY introduced me to Claudia Winkleman's new show quiz show, One Question.  I thought I’d seen an episode but, as we watched, I realised that I had just seen clips.  The question of the episode was, “what is Happy” and the contestants did, eventually, get the right answer, although missing out of the big cash prize. It’s quite a clever quiz format because you can play along at home.  The answer was not of the ones we thought it was going to be.

After watching that, and trying to avoid getting too hooked on the Formula 1 qualifying, at about 3:30pm set of for New Malden - via a quick Waitrose stop to pick up a couple of bottles - where we were having some food with friends.  It was a lovely afternoon, much warmer than expected and much warmer than I had really dressed for, so we sat in the garden before going inside to eat.  And I was not able to hoola either, much to everybody’s amusement.

Desert was a crisp white meringue filled with whipped cream and fresh fruit and it was one of the most delicious Pavlovas that I have had. It was just the right level of gooey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.