Peacock butterfly

The peacock butterfly was eating it's way around this bloom, grazing round and round, presumably on nectar from the tiny flowers making up the bloom.
This is a very traditional garden bush in Sweden. We've always called it spirae (goats beard) but when I checked today, looking for its English name I found that plant is invariably white. A bit of research and I found it was probably Astilbe chinensis, sometimes called "false goats beard", so I guess we aren't alone in our confusion.  Anyway I was very happy to see this beautiful butterfly, and even happier when it allowed me to get close enough to get this photo.
Berry picking was again the main activity today and if I hadn't seen the butterfly the blip would have featured blackcurrants!
Good news and bad news on the lurghy front. The good news is that I am feeling much better, almost 100%.  The bad news is that Jan arrived home from town and announced she has a cold and a sore throat. Wow, where could she picked that up?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.