Conker - Horse Chestnut

I drove into town today to try and fix the light on the Left party trailer. It seemed so simple but turned out not to be so. It seems every car and trailer has a different design of registration plate light and no-one could find a replacement. I tried two places, both of which tried to help but gave up in the end.  Eventually I took it home and replaced the broken glass with some plastic. I hope it works tomorrow, and that the MOT centre accepts it!
It was the first time I'd left the village in a week! I saw lots of things I could have photographed! However, the camera stayed in the bag so there is an eb today.
Last year our Horse Chestnut tree produced its first two chestnuts, but they were small and misshapen. This year there are three reasonable chestnuts on it. I think the tree is around ten years old but it seems to be doing okay in our climate and each year is bigger than the year before.  I think I'll have to live to about 120 if I want to see it reach full "spreading chestnut tree" size, but even if I don't see it a future owner will get to appreciate it, together with the oak tree we planted a few years earlier. I wonder if they will realise that when these trees were planted they were at their northern limit. 50 years from now maybe they'll be oak and chestnut forests springing up in mid-Sweden!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.