Some Days

By Euphemist

Shelduck Sunday

We should never try to duplicate a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

That makes sense, especially when you see it written on the screen in front of you.

But today I decided to go back down to the saltmarsh to pester the skylarks again.

And they were all hiding.

Not one lark to be seen or heard.

Last weekend I finished work and went there not really looking for skylarks and had one of the most memorable experiences of my life when one burst up from the rough grass and started to sing, almost into my face!

So today there were none, but walking back to the car I noticed a large shambling, waddling movement and it was, of course, the shelduck of the picture.

Big duck

These are really big ducks, as big as a goose, and with their distinctive markings a really nice sighting, and almost compensation for lack of larks.

Not quite, though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.