Information Retrieval

By Syetuttle

Bonding, Lego & Frank Sinatra

Finally got round building my Aston Martin DB5, a 50th birthday pressie from an old friend, who knows his Lego well and truly. It was a nice build. Things have certainly moved on since we both used to play together in our bedrooms (without sounding too rude like in that Rainbow episode once shown on TV in the 8o's). I was kinda expecting a cheesy pic of a kid on the lid building the Aston Martin with his/her Dad/Mum proudly watching over their shoulder like on the Lego boxes in the 70's/80's. Oh, I do miss them! One of the spare bricks that Lego always give away with each box, was the gear stick part, which I was able to use to make James Bond do a little Frank Sinatra while I build. The other spares included numerous number plates!

Aces.

It was also an opportunity to test out my new Samyang 16mm wide angle lens. It turns out I can get super close to the subject (see extra of the DB5) and photomerging in PS is a lot quicker due to the naturally wide distortion on the edges (see the church in the extras). The images come out really sharp all the way up to the corners with minimal vignetting (depending on the light). Next step is to see if the lens can cope with infrared. Fingers crossed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.