If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Nuthatch ( Sitta europaea )

Yet another day of solid drizzle so no gardening done at the Lodge.  Never mind we had more than enough round home to keep us busy.  So busy in fact that my total photography was a few grabbed shots of one of the Nutchatch's periodic visits.

Unfortunately, I missed the shot of its underside as it hung upside down from the centre of the curve.  As I have said before they are a bird I love to see because when I was getting into birding (many many years ago) there weren't any in the county.  As recently (in historic time) the mid to late 70s there were only 3 proven breeding successes and 3 attempts in the survey for the first "atlas of breeding Birds in Britain and Ireland". By the time of the surveys for the "Bird Atlas 2007-2011"  virtually all tetrads (2km by 2km squares) had nuthatches and the majority below a line Glasgow to Edinburgh in Scotland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.