When the going gets weird

By Slybacon

The Workspace

So, finally, faced with a Sunday that had no immediate purpose, the time came for the tidying of the desk. I should really have taken a before shot, but trust me, it was a tip.

Granted, it isn't exactly tidy now, but it's clear. I can fit my laptop on the light box and there's room for my Wacom beside it. Previously there were stacks and stacks of stuff. I chucked out three bags of rubbish.

It never starts as rubbish though. Things I think I might need, sparks for ideas, inspirations, projects... The majority of which fall by the wayside before ever coming to fruition. Today I was brutal. Everything went.

My theory is that now that my desk is tidy, I can sit at it and edit my photographs in an upright position. As opposed to sprawled across my bed. I suspect my sprawling at funny angles is contributing to the ongoing pain in my neck. Maybe sitting properly will help.

Also, this evening I have acquired Lightroom 4. I'm not sure if I'll have time tomorrow with work, but I intend to start teaching myself how to use it this week. Up until now I've been using Bridge/Photoshop. But it seems the general trend is moving most photographers towards Lightroom so I might as well keep up to date. I'm properly at the stage where the improved cataloguing powers of Lightroom will come in handy...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.