annhall

By annhall

Heliotrope - A lovely fragrant flowering plant

I went to the St. Petersburg Garden festival yesterday and came home with what I could comfortably carry, namely one very lovely heliotrope plant. Those who knew better brought wagons and wheelbarrows. I would certainly go again next year. It was a plant bonanza with many interesting booths and some very healthy plant material.
I have read of helitrope, but had not seen it in Florida garden centers. This was from a regional nursery, so I am hopeful that it will like it's new home. It is fragrant, likes warmth and shade, so I know I will have to keep a close eye on it. It may become a porch plant so I can keep a watchful eye on it. I have shade under a big bischovia tree out front, but most of my shade plants are porch plants where I can keep close track of their watering needs. In Florida, without rain, things dry out quickly. I have a mostly Florida friendly yard, and use a lot of natives that don't need as much water, and are suited to my soil, or sand, as is the case in my yard. We are close to the coast, so it stays warmer in Palma Sola, but tender plants can still be hurt by our winter chills. So we dance on the edge of what we can grow that is tropical.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.