photosbyjon

By photosbyjon

Day 117 of 365 - St Michael's Cathedral Coventry!

Welcome to day 117 of 365 (Finished image after Editing)

The original photo was taken this morning just before lunchtime. It is an image of the New Coventry Cathedral of St Michael. The Cathedral that was built to replace the older St Michael Cathedral (located next door) that was destroyed during the Blitz on Coventry in World War II. It is said that the New Cathedral that was designed by Sir Basil Spence and built between 1956 & 1962, is one of the most iconic and significant architectural commissions in the second half of the 20th century in the United Kingdom.

The Cathedral building is is a Grade I Listed building and is number 3 on my list of 19 (Grade I) Listed buildings in Coventry that I hope to photograph. It is also the newest Grade I building on this list.

As always the shot was taken with my iPhone 5. The photo was taken using the camera App ProCamera for iPhone. The original image can be found here: Unedited original Image.

First of all I used PhotoToaster to edit the image. The edits were made by applying the Oil Paint filter then sharpening the image and boosting the saturation. Next I used the app Dynamic Light with the Orton preset effect. Finally I used the App Romantic Photo to add a painterly effect to the image using the Golden Memories Light Tint filter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.