Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Onslow

It just keeps getting better and better and today has been an eye opener.  After my rant about the town of Exmouth in yesterday’s blip I have to say I think we encountered the friendliest town in WA today.  My blip is of Mauzee topping up MiniMo’s water tank with “Free” water from a tap right outside the information centre.  We couldn’t find a drop in Exmouth yesterday!!  As soon as we drove into the town today we could sense the difference.  Mauzee has had her training wheels on and I’m happy to say is now performing excellently in all areas of maintaining the van :)  There was a fellow down on the water from who was part of their maintenance team and we congratulated him on the state of the foreshore.  It was so clean and welcoming with quite a few shelter sheds along the length of the beach.  The best gift from this town today was when we went to the Caravan Park and asked if it would be possible to use their laundry to do a wash.  It was an instant yes and “would we like to have a shower as well” - well of course it was an instant yes!!  How about that and it cost us a whole $14.  $5 each for a shower and $4 to put a wash through.  I have added an extra of the sign that gave us quite a lot of comfort as Onslow is so often in the firing line of cyclones during the cyclone season.

We’re off to Karratha and Port Hedland tomorrow and on Friday we should be very close to Broome and the legendary Cable Beach.  We are going to head a little further on that day and camp on Saturday and Sunday night at at Lombadina. This is an area of the Dampier Peninsula that I have been longing to return to and it will give me great joy to return to this Indigenous Community.
I had to back blip my journal from Ningaloo Reef yesterday as we had no reception so here’s a link if you would like to read about this spectacular part of the world :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.