Super Sipper: We've Got Proboscis Fever!

Long before the mid-afternoon rains set in, we went to the Barrens. My husband, to jog. Me, to go chasing butterflies. I walked to the place I have begun to think of as Butterfly Alley, and I was not disappointed. There, I was met by several monarchs and an Eastern tiger swallowtail or two, and I set up my gear and quite happily began snapping away on the camera.

Before I would leave the gamelands, I would also see a pearl crescent, a viceroy or two, several spicebush swallowtails, and a mourning cloak. I only wish there were more of them, but I rejoice at each and every butterfly. I celebrate their beauty, and I admit I am a special fan of the proboscis shots, showing off their super sippers.

The other big news for this day is that I ordered a camera. Well, I can't believe I did this but I am buying YET ANOTHER Canon PowerShot SX 60 HS. It's from 42nd St. Photo in NYC, the guy just called on the phone to confirm my order details, and by next week at this time, I should have the new SX 60 in hand!

Here's a song for a girl who just saw a bunch of butterflies AND initiated the purchase of a camera. Let's let it be Bon Jovi, with Leonard Cohen's classic, Hallelujah, perhaps unexpectedly covering it with the restraint, misery, reverence, and quiet passion it deserves. Even if you aren't a Bon Jovi fan, give it a listen. And read the comments, for a change!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.