After the Fire

This morning our son M. sent us this photo. 
He is a volunteer firefighter and had spent the night at fire site that had destroyed a forest of 25 hectares. The fire started four days ago and meanwhile it is under control. There are still embers in the ground.
To prevent that the fire reignites, about 550 fire fighters were busy last night. They still have to struggle with a shortage of water and the danger of the remains of the depot (ammunition still lieing all over the place, the fire workers can only use a limited number of paths).
When I saw this rather surreal photo of the sunrise over the destroyed forest, I immediately knew, that I should become my blip today, even the credits go to M. I'm very grateful for this brave men and women, who always immediately are willing to risk their health or lives to protect others from fire or other calamities. Chapeau!
In the extra M. at work in the forest
Btw. after the night shift in the forest, he took a shower and a short nap. Then he hurried to his daily work. I think he is more than done this night ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.